Getting started

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Imnotjacob22

Reaction score
Hey guys, I’m fairly new to this hobby but I’ve built and launched tons of model rockets as a kid. I’m 25 now and tired of the usual “Here! Superglue this kit together!” So I’ve started learning how to mix and cast fuel and even managed to machine a decent graphite nozzle this morning. I know I’m probably about to get fleeced for being a newbie and doing all this, however I’m really wanting to know what certifications I should try and get before getting too much further in this

:welcome: I am not qualified to answer this question but that’s not going to stop me! You should get your L2 through TRA which is the second of 3 HPR certifications each cert lets you fly bigger motors, You can learn more at the TRA website.

Welcome!

While I am also not qualified to answer much relating to Rx motors, NTP is almost right
should get your L2 through TRA can learn more at the TRA website.
Except that you will have to get your TRA L2 to launch at a sanctioned launch. Just be safe, and start with smaller motors, and find someone with experience before you get to anything bigger than a small motor. TRA website
Certifying is not too hard, I knocked my L1 and L2 out pretty quickly, and with the same rocket, so it didn't cost too much.

Welcome!

While I am also not qualified to answer much relating to Rx motors, NTP is almost right

Except that you will have to get your TRA L2 to launch at a sanctioned launch. Just be safe, and start with smaller motors, and find someone with experience before you get to anything bigger than a small motor. TRA website
Certifying is not too hard, I knocked my L1 and L2 out pretty quickly, and with the same rocket, so it didn't cost too much.