Cleaning AT RMS Casings

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rocketholic

Pushing the limits of ingenuity and engineering
TRF Supporter
Reaction score
Not sure where to post this but here seemed logical.

I have no doubt this subject has been hammered out before and I've even read posts with similar information but I can't find them so here goes.

I'm relatively new to the RMS scene and have successfully loaded and flown the AT 29/40-120 casing below a few times. When it came time to clean it, I reached down below my bench and pulled out my shotgun choke tube cleaner and gave it a try. This stuff works VERY well and quickly at removing crusty carbon deposits and other residue left behind. Its around $12 for the can but you don't need much. Works great on removing carbon on handguns too after firing cheap practice rounds that tend to use "dirty" powder.

I use a 1-gallon plastic jug bottom remaining after cutting it off a little below the handle attachment and an old toothbrush. Take all the pieces and drop them in the container. Give them a quick dousing and let them sit a minute. Wipe with a rag after a quick brush and done. It leaves behind an ultra-thin lubricant/protectant film (notice the shine). The film seems to help prevent future deposits from being stubborn to remove plus it protects all the threads and surfaces.

Don't use it indoors though. Especially not in the house.

20240421_164741.jpg

Works great on removing carbon on handguns too after firing cheap practice rounds that tend to use "dirty" powder.