Beginner drone

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rbeckey

Reaction score
My adult son is a graduate student. He has indicated an interest in drones, but does not have time to research how to logically get started. I have zero knowledge on the subject.

I'd like to send him a gift at Easter. What should a complete rookie get to start in the hobby? Something to learn and build off of.

There are a lot of options, but the key thing is to buy a drone from a company that has a decent reputation, since there is a lot of junk (Chinese) out there. I bought a fairly cheap drone last year (under $100) and it was pretty junkie. Hard to fly, short range. It would up in a tree. The neighbor found it on the ground after a wind storm before he ran over it with his lawn mower.

The best game in town is DJI, they basically own the consumer space and a good portion of the commercial space. If you want to go low cost to start, the best option is the Tello. https://store.dji.com/shop/tello-series?from=menu_icon

It's $100 ($149 with spare parts, a good idea). I bought one but haven't spun it up yet (waiting for decent Spring weather). You can buy a game controller that makes it easier to fly ($49 on the website or $35 on Amazon). It's decent, not junk, the company has decent support and it's not too big an investment.

From there the sky is the limit, just like an hobby (aka, ROCKETS). The Mavic series starts at about $500, goes up to about $1300. You can add FPV to the series for additional bucks. As you go up in price you get better sensors, more flying time and distance and more collision avoidance logic. Anybody can fly the expensive ones easily in the beginner mode, but where is the fun in that.

Good luck.

I believe his main interest going forward fill be high res video and photography. Budget is likely ~$200 for this gift.