Airbrush

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I am considering purchasing an airbrush after looking at a couple models on the Harbor Freight site. I realize these are not high end professional models. So anyway I am wondering what brand airbrush paint is most often used by everyone here on the forum?

THX in advance!

If you insist on "airbrush" paint then Createx has the best. It's an Acrylic. HOWEVER; you don't need airbrush paint. I've been an airbrush artist and professional painter for 28 years and have used "airbrush" paint possibly a dozen times. Any paint will do as long as you reduce it to spray viscosity. Typically something around the consistance of milk (just a tad thicker than water). 19 to 25 seconds on a #2 Zahn cup if you have access to one. I have been known to take rattlecan paint and shoot it into a color jar directly. It's pre thinned and probably already matches what you're working on. Duplicolor "Painy Shop" line is awsome and spray ready. Available from any auto parts store.
As for the airbrush itself; I have a number of Thayer Vega 2000's but I swear by Iwata. The Iwata Eclips is a great hobby brush. The Airbrush Depot is a great online resource, https://www.tcpglobal.com/airbrushdepot/ Stear clear os single action external mix. They are very limited in function. Internal mix duel action will satisfy anything a hobbyist might encounter. FWIW.

Last edited:
I have a dual action Paashe and an Aztec--Prefer the Paashe. As for paint--I spray anything , just reduce it yourself.

I am considering purchasing an airbrush after looking at a couple models on the Harbor Freight site. I realize these are not high end professional models. So anyway I am wondering what brand airbrush paint is most often used by everyone here on the forum?

THX in advance!