New Homemade Launch Controller

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

paparoof

Reaction score
Sorry for my wordiness on this one, but I figure when safety of children is involved, more detail is better then not enough.

Okay here's the project: new homemade launch controller.

I'm not an electrician by any means, but I'm very logical and I certainly grasp the general concepts of DC power. I know what a resistor is and what a capacitor does, I just don't know how to do the math to figure out which ones to use.

So like any project, I gotta start with a list of problems I'm trying to solve:

I currently have and use a homemade controller.

Problem #1:
I ALWAYS have the kids take turns pushing the button cause they love it and it frees me up to hold the camera. the current launcher is too big for my kids little tiny hands.

Problem #2:
I'm convinced that the majority of launch failures I've had were due to weak power at the ignitor and I've had no failures since I began bringing my boat battery to launches. Of course, my current launch controller was designed for an internal battery, so I already had to muck it up in order to adapt it to an external battery. It has blinking status LED's with inline resistors, but that math was done by a Radio Shack clerk and it was done based on a 9v power source, so the LEDs don't behave properly on the 12v power source.

Problem #3: