Launch Controller Electronics

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Anton.bennettHHS

Reaction score
Hi, I am a High school student building a launch controller for a rocket club as part of my workshop project.

This is the first time I have practically worked with electronics, and to be honest I don't really know where to start.
I have discussed with some others and I think this is the battery I will be using (might be overkill?)

They want the controller to have an arming switch, keyswitch, momentary button, a check for continuity and led counter for how much battery/how many launches remains. the controller connects to the ignitors through alligator clips.

Any help on where to start or some example circuits I could look at?

Are you only using this for one rocket? If that's the case, the basic controller is pretty simple. The battery gauge and something to indicate launches remaining is the big fly in the ointment. You could just go with a 12V battery like this and not worry about it. It will launch 100+ rockets between charges.

Here's simple schematic for a single launcher.

Basic Controller.png

The resisters should be 470 Ohm for 12 V, and for a 7.4V system, about 260 ohms.

The basic launch controller is the easy part. However, if you require a smart battery status monitor that indicates battery voltage AND an estimate of how many launches are left before a recharge is necessary, then you will most likely require a small processor board with an LCD readout.