TeleMetrum apogee deploy

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

Aditya M

Member
Joined
Feb 14, 2019
Messages
9
Reaction score
3
Hey guys has anyone used a Telemetrum for single deploy before? Like deploy main at apogee and thats it?

And also if a 28 inch parachute is deployed as a parachute at like 10000ft and I am prepared to walk for however long it takes could I recover it? Like with GPS guidance from the telemetrum



-Aditya M
 

GalantVR41062

Celebrate Recovery
TRF Supporter
Joined
Oct 25, 2017
Messages
254
Reaction score
169
Location
Plymouth MN
People have had the main deploy at apogee for one reason or another.

There are regulations on your altitude limit and recovery area when flying high power rockets, and each location is different so look into that.

There are other options to have the rocket come down with a small drouge or drougless and something that holds the main until a lower altitude.

Estimate for recovery area: 10,000' apogee, 20'/s main decent, 20mph winds at altitude= drift of 14,666'.

~John
 

Andrew_ASC

UTC SEDS 2017 3rd/ SEDS 2018 1st
Joined
Sep 22, 2017
Messages
3,869
Reaction score
518
3E96A407-7E7D-422B-AFBE-A73BF47862A9.jpeg
Um. I’m gonna give you a hard fact. Last year UTC SEDS Apogee deployed at 11563 ft a 12” chute at Tampa, FL. On a calm day on ground it still drifted 1.4 miles into a swamp which was an ultra pita to recover. We got 1st but a dual deploy setup was sorely missed. It also drifted off the rocket launch site the cow field laterally into a woodland swamp which no one else dares go. This is why people start using dual deploy. Be wary of how much lateral recovery room you have.
 

Rail Dawg

Always learning!!!
TRF Supporter
Joined
Nov 23, 2018
Messages
874
Reaction score
708
Location
Houston TX and Lovelock NV
My suggestion is you're in the big leagues now learn to dual-deploy.

If your rocket lands in the water someplace you may never find it if the GPS gets soaked.

Spoken from lots of wilderness-rocket-hunting-experience lol.

Chuck C.
 
Last edited:

blackjack2564

Crazy Jim's Gone Banana's
TRF Supporter
Joined
Jan 18, 2009
Messages
8,940
Reaction score
1,078
Location
Savannah Ga
Hey guys has anyone used a Telemetrum for single deploy before? Like deploy main at apogee and thats it.
-Aditya M
Yes I have, in a project specific use, down low [3-4000ft] Booster on 2 stage.
Why are you doing this so high? Must be mitigating circumstances?
 

Aditya M

Member
Joined
Feb 14, 2019
Messages
9
Reaction score
3
Yea I trekked through like 1.3 km of uncharted wilderness on a slant with fallen trees to find a weather ballon once so I have some experience in finding stuff.
Yea I'm just trying to make something go to over 10000 ft
 

Aditya M

Member
Joined
Feb 14, 2019
Messages
9
Reaction score
3
I'll probably try to do dual deploy with like a streamer or small drogue or something. Thanks guys
 
Top