Q About Raven & StratologgerCF Altimeters

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

jmmome

Well-Known Member
TRF Supporter
Joined
Jan 11, 2013
Messages
346
Reaction score
81
Location
Maumee (Toledo) OH
Any reason you know of that these altimeters can't be positioned in the horizontal orientation? Would prefer to mount the sealed body tube containing these altimeters to the back of the avionics hatch in a horizontal position so that the sampling ports can be spaced out a little farther apart.

I plan on using the Raven for accelerometer deployment of main chutes at apogee, and the Stratologger for backup deploy at apogee plus one. Do you see any flaws in this strategy? Thanks!!!
 

Attachments

mikec

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 9, 2009
Messages
2,379
Reaction score
314
The Raven has to be oriented with the long axis aligned up or down for the accelerometer to work. The SL can be oriented in any direction.
 

jmmome

Well-Known Member
TRF Supporter
Joined
Jan 11, 2013
Messages
346
Reaction score
81
Location
Maumee (Toledo) OH
Thank you- makes complete sense. I'll figure an alternate way to position the sealed body tube.

That would have been a heck of a 65 pound mistake hurdling down from 1,500 feet or so...........
 

JDcluster

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2009
Messages
5,287
Reaction score
78
Location
New Jersey
If you recalibrate it off by 90 degrees I believe you can do it. although you will be limited to the second Accelerometer on the Y axis.

I made a mistake when calibrating mine (Raven 4). I went to arm it on the pad and it would only arm in the horizontal position.

The Raven has to be oriented with the long axis aligned up or down for the accelerometer to work. The SL can be oriented in any direction.
 

mikec

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 9, 2009
Messages
2,379
Reaction score
314
If you recalibrate it off by 90 degrees I believe you can do it.
I'd be pretty surprised if this would work correctly. At a minimum the sampling rates are different on the lateral accel channel. But I can't say for sure.
 

kjs

Well-Known Member
TRF Supporter
Joined
Jan 22, 2013
Messages
226
Reaction score
69
For the Raven to work properly using the accelerometer, it needs to be mounted vertical along the long axis (either end up). That axis is what the programming is based on so I don't think any attempts to re-calibrate it at a 90 degree offset would result in anything good...

If you used it for baro only deployment, then you still have the issue that it would not arm itself when laying horizontal (so it would not detect liftoff).

/kjs
 

Adrian A

Sponsor
TRF Sponsor
TRF Lifetime Supporter
Joined
Jan 22, 2009
Messages
2,261
Reaction score
235
I'd be pretty surprised if this would work correctly. At a minimum the sampling rates are different on the lateral accel channel. But I can't say for sure.
That's correct. The software knows whether it's watching the long axis or the short axis, and neither the calibration nor the flight launch detection would work if you try to swap them. A 180 degree rotation is fine, though, because the software will reverse its sign convention on the pad if it sees it's sitting with the "up" end pointed down.
 
Top