In-house Rocket Motor development for 3-D printed model rocket

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi all!

I've 3D printed a model rocket structure using ABS that's around 29.5 cm in height with a body radius of 5 cm. The overall structure weighs around 170 grams without onboard electronic & propulsion subsystems. Inside this, I plan to mount an IoT module for flight data collection.

But I'm worried on what kind of rocket motor I should use for this! I don't wish to purchase a standard motor and I'd rather make one myself. Since it's my first time doing this, I'd appreciate if anyone could help me with the rocket motor composition and the kind of grain configuration I'll have to use for this. Something simple yet powerful!

Also, the onboard electronic module I'm planning to use for this project is a simple Pi Pico as MCU with an MPU6050, BMP180, an SD card module for data storage. In addition to this, I'm now trying to use a SIM800L (I know it's not that good of a module but it just serves the purpose! 😅) to remotely start and terminate data capturing. As for the firmware, I'm using Micro python to integrate all of this. Any suggestions on this system are welcome!

Appreciate any kind of help!

Thank you!

Attachments

• rocket_seperate.jpg
    rocket_seperate.jpg
    5.9 MB · Views: 0
  • rocket_whole.jpg
    rocket_whole.jpg
    3.2 MB · Views: 0
Learn to walk before you run.
Buy and COTS motor and work out ALL the other stuff.
Then you can focus on motor development.