Help with Altus Metrum EasyMini and USB

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rshuman

Reaction score
I'm looking for help. Just bought an EasyMini. When I start it up it does dit-dit-dit startup mode, then varies between idle mode, pad mode, but most often a noise that sounds like like an electronic phone ringing. When I plugged it into my Windows 7 laptop via USB (AltOS 1-3-2 already installed) it first said EasyMini device driver successfully installed. But, cannot get it to show up as a device within AltOS, even when in idle mode. I've no prior experience with AltOS or other Altus Metrum hardware products, maybe it is something simple?

Thanks!
Bob

Bob,
I don't have an EasyMini, but I do have a TeleMega, and have experienced the same issue with it and my Windows 7 and Windows Vista machines. First check if you can see the EasyMini in Device Manager - it could be using the wrong drivers for it.

I ended up manually selecting drivers to install for the TeleMega from the AltusMetrum install folder (Program Files (x86)\AltusMetrum) and you may need to use a different USB port, since it doesn't always show up in Windows Control Panel Device Manager. When it does, it is in the Modem category.

Also, I am completely unable to flash AltOS firmware upgrades for my TeleMega using a Windows machine (either 7 or Vista... I haven't tried others.) It appears that as part of the firmware upgrade process the TeleMega changes device ID or something, and then Windows is unable to assign correct drivers to it for uploading firmware to it. The solution I found is to run the AltusMetrum software package on a Linux distribution, since Bdale and Keith (who make the AltusMetrum) speak Debian Linux natively, I am using a Debian distribution, and it is able to successfully flash firmware to my TeleMega.