CF airframe + alu skin on a supersonic rocket?

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

136472 makemake

Reaction score
Hey everyone! First poster here. I'm an absolute newbie to this subject who just learned about it a few days ago, so have mercy on me if I'm wildly off the mark here with my question:

In the search for a lighter rocket, has anyone built a supersonic rocket which has a carbon fiber skeletal airframe for the main body, wrapped in a very thin non-structural layer of aluminum (or something else) for the "skin" to preserve aerodynamic qualities?

I envision the airframe as rings spaced out every so often, connected with 3-4 "columns" to join them all, as opposed to a full CF tube, most likely capped with a conventional CF nosecone and fin can.

I read that on the SR-71 flying at Mach 3+, temperatures could get up to 315 C / 600 F, and the melting point for these materials is much higher, so I'm assuming nothing would melt or deform significantly?

Thanks to all who reply.

cardboard rockets are capable of going "supersonic" And cardboard is a fairly good insulator.

Tony

The SR-71 traveled at mach 3.2 for many, many hours on end. That is why the skin would get so hot, it was operating supersonic in a steady-state condition. Rockets on the other hand, especially amateur ones only spend a few brief seconds supersonic. Because of this you don't get much heating of the airframe.