3D Printing Bought my first ever 3d printer. Bambu Labs P1S. Could use some advice on getting started

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Picked up a black Friday sale on a Bambu labs P1S. Think it should do what i need. Not looking to make it a new hobby. But more of a tool. Questions would be.

Where is the best place to get Filaments? Price abd reliability function for the machine are important.

Best how to learn CAD? Specifically looking at fusion 360. Im a complete noob.

How much pc do i need?

Any specific requirements on where to place my printer? What kind of stand?

Any other thoughts or tips are welcome.

There's a free version of fusion 360 for hobbyists. I expect you know that.
I found the learning curve to be too high for me personally and ended up learning SCAD. There are a few nosecone generators available for SCAD, including mine and a few fincan generators, including mine.
Bill Kalsow has a nice one too.... @kalsow :)
SCAD will run happily on any old pc running linux. Or wiwndoze if you must.
I personally use any generic ABS I can lay my hands on at a reasonable price. PETG is pretty good for rocket bits too. PLA is not really suitable as you get a lot of distortion if you leave the part in the sun.
Open Rocket can now export files for printing. It will NOT export any fins that are not a flat profile and will not produce fillets. It does export a reasonable nosecone. But the SCAD generators will give better results as you can have stepped mating sections and mating into the nosecone.
Here's a few things that you can do already without having to reinvent things yourself....
Selection_551.jpgSelection_554.jpgSelection_560.jpgSelection_569.jpgSelection_570.jpgSelection_586.jpgSelection_620.jpgSelection_695.jpgSelection_695.jpg

Congrats - Bambu printers have a great representation in the market.