Back into the hobby

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Astrobuf

Reaction score
My name is Pat McGuire. I am now a retired Mechanical Engineer. My career started in 1977 when I joined NASA as a Shuttle Flight Control Engineer while an Engineering Student @ University of MN. I worked at JSC for 2 years supporting ALT flights, leaving to return to school just prior to OFT-1.

I had a passion for Rocketry & Space Exploration as an Apollo child. Was an active NAR member of the Outa Sight section in Minneapolis, MN. I built competitive scale models, rocket gliders, altitude competitors and egg lofters....

After graduating from the UofMN, I joined 3M as a Computational Design Engineer, using experience gained from my extensive NASA Coop assignment. At 3M, I worked on everything from sandpaper makers to prosthetic joints, arterial perfusion systems to environmental control systems. I even led 3M's Design teams on a series of microgravity materials processing experiments that flew on a series of Shuttle flights.

Career wise, I became head of Engineering Design, then a Product Development Lab Head, a Global Lab Head with teams around the world and finally a Global Lab Director.

My career flourished in great part from my experiences as a young teenager building Rockets in my bedroom shop.

50 years after building my last rocket, I built an Estes Bull Pup and reintroduced the hobby to my Cub Scout Pack. I'm looking forward to building a vintage Saturn V now that I have the time and patience to do so!