How can I start a rocket motor company?

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
In Australia it is virtually impossible to get motors above a G.
What would it actually take to get a hobby rocket motor company off the ground?

List all the hoops, licences, complexities, and anything you can think of related to it.

I'm thinking make motors from G to O. Keep it simple. Drive with them to the launch days around the country and sell them at launch days.
No exporting, no military use, purely just hobby rockets.

Im pretty sure that would be hard to do because you probably would need to get the propellants imported and depending on the demand for rocket motors in Australia i'm not sure how well that would do. But i'm no expert or anything thats just my ideas.

How stringent are the regulations for importing a large number of hobby rocket motors? Is there a break point at, say, 500 or 5000 motors for resale, where the import fees become manageable? That would likely mean a large up-front investment.

Making propellant yourself is almost certainly a non-starter. I know nothing in particular about related regulations in Australia but they're certain to be more stringent than in the US. And here in 'murica the propellant in question has to undergo tests that run around $10k. For each propellant.

Freewheeling my lame-brain: I don't know whether getting a license from, say, Aerotech, to make their WL or BT or whatever as "Aerotech AUS" might be practical. Whereas their propellants have already been tested, albeit by a reputable US lab, there could be some decrease in required testing in AUS. Or whether it'd be possible to import pre-made AT/CTI/whomever propellants, and construct motors from them. Though that might be as expensive as importing complete motors.