noobie looking for club...

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AcidPaintball

Reaction score
I've been looking for a club to join around my parts yet the local one seems so unwilling to accept new members. Which baffles me.

I'm no expert but I've been reading, building, flying, and just plain having fun on my own. But I wouldn't mind finding a group of guys to fly with. My local club just lost their large field to wind turbines yet I know of a place that will most likely allow us to fly the big boy rockets, yet the guy that runs the club is not willing to accept my help.. again I'm dumbfounded. This makes me feel like I am not wanted.

Why would a club act in this manner? Are they looking to fail or does the head guy just not care any more? Heck,l I've attended many flights this year and he has never made it to one - as far as I'm aware.

Just mostly looking for guidance for a rookie.

The story you have told is missing a lot. As you have told it, it IS baffling...and illogical, and very uncharacteristic of a club to not want a field, not want another member, and the leader never to show up. I'm pretty sure more details would make our job a little easier, if you're really asking for our take on the situation. Or if you just want to vent, that's cool. Mission accomplished.

If you want to form your own local Section of the NAR, go right ahead. The NAR does not enforce any sort of "territory" silliness that prevents other local clubs from forming if they are too close to another existing club. The more local clubs with legal launch sites, the better.

Sure sounds strange and uncharacteristic to me. Have you talked with other club officers?