Club expectations...

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

danielhv

Reaction score
SO, I am new to all of this. I've built a handful of Estes rockets over my 41 years of life, nothing special. YouTube is what got me interested in HPR's. I probably went the not-so-advised route of just buying a rocket and building it without mentorship, local clubs, or NRA/Tripoli membership. I just enjoy building them so I figured what do I have to lose. Did the Apogee Zephyr (waiting on paint to dry). So now as the end of the build approaches, I'm looking for where to go and launch. Both NAR and Tripoli have local representation here in the DFW area... was hoping to find someone either from each, or even better someone that is in both clubs to give me some insight in to where I'd fit in best. Would like to eventually get my L1, but still learning these bigger platforms. Considering I'll need a membership in either of the National orgs PLUS the local chapter dues, I can really only justify one, not both.

Both clubs have fields that are about the same distance from me.

Last edited:
Any good club should probably let you fly as a guest at least once. If you're after certification, then yes, you will have to join a national organization. I'm a member of NAR (and the NRA, but that's a different hobby) and can't speak to Tripoli as their nearest field is about an extra hour away.

If you're in a hurry, pick one and go for it.

If you have some time, visit each club and see how it goes.

Do they conduct themselves safely and professionally? Are there any motor vendors on site? Is it a family friendly type of affair?

Would you actually want to pay money to join that club?

High powered rocketry is secret code for "I literally burn money", so don't let the cost of club membership stand in the way of enjoying the hobby.