What do you do (or did) for a living?

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Here's a few of the more interesting things I have managed to get paid to do:

• Promote punk and hardcore concerts
  • Ride Rollercoasters and amusment park rides
  • Set up firework displays and make pyrotechnic effects
  • Drive a firetruck
  • Ride a pit bike around during motorcross races
  • Sit on a beach and lifeguard a great lake.
  • Build clay tennis courts
  • And currently taking care of people while flying in a helicopter
And a couple of mundane things too:

• Make salads at a salad bar in the girls dorm
  • Sell computers and TVs
  • Bartender

I was in the golf business for 20 years. The golf business died in 2007/8.. After that I was a firearms instructor for five years. Then I got sick and retired. Spent a year and a half going to The Mayo Clinic in Scottdale. After hundreds of appointments the still didn't know what was wrong with me. But I have been felling like my old self since September.

My first “job” was a door man at a cat house! Not really, growing up we had lots of cats. They liked to come and go. I was usually the one opening the door for them.
I spent 2 years working in the Challis National Forest performing everything from planting mahogany shrubs to pouring concrete slabs for warehouses. Every penny earned those two years went into the bank to pay for my A&P schooling.
2 years attending Idaho State University A&P school while part timing for a farm implements company where we modified the equipment for each farmers needs.
From there I lived and worked in Sun Valley, ID performing maintenance on heavy equipment an plowing parking lots and driveways during winter months.
After Sun Valley I chased helicopters all over the country. I enjoyed the work, not so much the travel. Living is squalid hotels in no name cities is really not a lot of fun.