Vacation Bible School Rocket Launch

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JAL3

Reaction score
As many of you know, I am a pastor. Our church has an annual Vacation Bible School program and I agreed to help out. The lady running the program asked me to add a "fun" activity. Of course, nothing is more fun than rockets so...

The rocket program was originally going to be a good deal bigger but some of the trustees were worried about safety.:eyeroll: For a while, it looked like they were going to let us build but not fly them. They eventually relented on the flying for the oldest class.

For rockets, we used 13mm Art Applewhite Spartans. The Spartan is Art's low cost "group/school" rocket. It was priced right, easy to build and I could "pick them up at the factory". Over the course of a week, we ended the class sessions with a short build time. I gave all of the rockets a coat of gloss white and let the kids use markers to decorate them to suit.

557.jpg

558.jpg

559.jpg

Because of the small field, the rockets were launched on 1/4A3-3s. Except that I did not have enough! My rocket and a randomly chosen student got 1/2As. Even with the 1/4, the rockets performed very well.

560.jpg561.jpg562.jpg

Every single launch was successful and recovered safely. The 1/2A just barely so because of the field size.

The kids had a blast.

I thought about that this year, but you clearly have a bit more space that we do. I was concerned about what the township police (and our neighbors) would think of launching from our parking lot.

Good job John!

I sure would like to see a full review of the Spartan line. Maybe Art will bring some to Beeville and I can see for myself.

Good job John!

I sure would like to see a full review of the Spartan line. Maybe Art will bring some to Beeville and I can see for myself.