Spool Rocket Stability

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Zeroignite

Reaction score
Hiya,

I'm new to the non-kit scene, and am just wondering... how in the hells are spool rockets stable?

Seems to me that CP would be right on top of CG unless you stuck a lump of lead on top, and that drag stabilization wouldn't help you either since the top and bottom disks are the same diameter.

Part of it (as explained to me) is the fact that as the spool tips to one side air spills over the edge causing it to self correct by the other side pushing down. Essentially it oscillates on the way up.

I always thought it was largely the same mechanism that makes a saucer work...base drag. I've flown a spool with only a top plate and I think I've seen them with only a bottom.

The stagnation pressure of the flat disk causes enough drag to move the dynamic center of pressure below the center of gravity and the thrust of the motor to move the center of gravity forward thus making it stable. The turbulent boundary layer of the top disk causes the smaller exposed surface area of the bottom disk to be somewhat ineffective.

www.apogeerockets.com/downloads/Newsletter154.pdf

"Various aerodynamic texts confirm the fact that the dynamic Center-of-Pressure (CP) of flat plate lying perpendicular to a flow, lies behind the plate along its central axis, due to a base vortex that forms when the air begins flowing over its surface. Published data shows the CP for a flat plate in a perpendicular flow is about 2.2 diameters behind the plate along the axis perpendicular to the face of the plate through its center."