How to build a static test stand to measure induction/GDS stability?

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BigMacDaddy

TRF Supporter
Reaction score
So I have been exploring the induction stability of the William the Bullet model and wondering if a bigger engine will create greater induction flow and thus more stability inducing forces. Seems intuitive that it would but I am not a rocket scientist.

Someone mentioned wind tunnel testing and I realized that would not be particularly useful with a model that uses induction stability. However, it got me thinking -- How could a person build a test stand that would measure the stabilizing forces created by induction / GDS in a particular model?

For example, could you use a static motor test stand on a pivot mounted at CG location. Use a load cell, pressure sensor, strain gauge and either push or pull the rocket measuring the countervailing force experienced (I suppose first pushing / pulling it without the engine firing to get a baseline).

Useful? Possible?

Again, I am not a scientist.

IMHO, if this could be done to some degree, this might make a good high school science project and the information could be useful to the rocket community. Almost 60 years ago I did a science project on ambient temperature effects on model rocket performance. The project worked out pretty good. I used the recording static test stand that I bought from Rocket Development Corp. Unfortunately, these stands are no longer available and researcher would have to build one on his own. That said, I do not have any ideas off the top of my head for using such a test stand in GDS research.