Two-Stage Rocket Stability and Stage Separation

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Marvin562

Reaction score
Hey guys I'm a college student part of my school's rocket team. This year we are building a two-stage rocket and expected to reach 10,000ft apogee. One of my concerns is the rocket's stability for a two-stage. I was told a good stable rocket can range from 1.5-3.5 cals. Is the stability the same for two-stage rockets? Reading up on multiple two-stage rocket reports most people start off with 1.8 cals and above, why is that? My team is also having trouble with the stage separation. We are thinking of just doing drag separation but don't know how precise that'll be, so another option is just doing a small black powder charge. What do you guys think, would appreciate your input.

Reading up on multiple two-stage rocket reports most people start off with 1.8 cals and above, why is that?
The short answer is Fear of Failure.​
I build a lot of scratch build / scratch design odd-rocs with stability around 0.7 calibers.​
Launch Rail Length and Rocket Exit Speed are keys to successful launches.​

The short answer is Fear of Failure.​
I build a lot of scratch build / scratch design odd-rocs with stability around 0.7 calibers.​
Launch Rail Length and Rocket Exit Speed are keys to successful launches.​
I would add that the upper stage can go supersonic on many 2-stage projects and stability is reduced at those speeds.

Stability must be analyzed on the full stack (booster + sustainer) and then for the Sustainer.
Less than 1 cal is OK if not approaching Mach1. Else an additional margin is need since CP tends to move back around Mach1.

Many have tried stage separation by drag but typically this does not happen. Therefore a small separation charge is desired. Separation can be obtained from the sustainer motor firing but may fry the ISC.