Show us your soldering iron

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JStitz

Reaction score
JordonT started me thinking with his comment about how he was using his old 20 year old soldering iron.
I with my near sightedness have been able to do mil-spec soldering since I was in my early 20's.
I always wanted a thin pencil Weller and passed up surplus irons due to all the sweet irons provided by employers.
I have been using a cheap Weller and a sears for too many years and want to get something real.
What did you buy? and where did you get it?

What did you buy? and where did you get it?

I wanted a Metcal, but wasn't willing to fork over the kilobuck required. Fortunately, Oki bought Metcal a few years ago and appropriated their RF soldering stuff and brought it to something I was willing to buy. I have the PS-800, which isn't being sold any longer, but it looks exactly like this PS-900 one:

PS-900 Soldering Station

It's got lots of power, and you can get a variety of different tips for it. I'm regularly fixing fairly small pitch (0.5mm QFNs and QFPs) or replacing 0402 passives with a tiny pencil point tip. Swap tips and I can go at 12 gauge stranded to wire up a launch system. It takes maybe 30 seconds to get hot after turning it on, which is not as fast as a "real" Metcal, but not a terribly long wait either.

I don't remember where I bought mine, but there are lots of online retailers carrying it, all for about $250.

Thanks Keith, I don't want the TRF folks to do my leg work...just want to know what to buy and what you guys like to use.

I've got one of these, from SparkFun:

09672-02c.jpg

It's not a real Hakko 936, but it works pretty well for my purposes and it's lightyears ahead of the radioshack iron I had before. The new version doesn't look like the Hakko anymore, though.

I have a couple. I can't solder worth a damn, though.