Scale model of the Hail Mary

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

NTP2

Reaction score
So I have been looking for a winter project and the book project Hail Mary is a fav of mine. so I went and found this rescale of the dimensions in the book(credit to reddit user prefim)that has the author’s approval. I was thinking to put one F in each tank section and 3d print the transition and nose cone at 1/200th or 1/100th scale to give a diameter of standard tubing. thoughts and comments appreciated.

Attachments

• 3tubjf5uv7071.png
    3tubjf5uv7071.png
    314.6 KB · Views: 2
All right time for some sims and that is also what brings me to my first problem. How to sim that transition in openrocket I am no expert and I have no idea how to do it, maybe 2 nose cones on each side will approximate it?

All right time for some sims and that is also what brings me to my first problem. How to sim that transition in openrocket I am no expert and I have no idea how to do it, maybe 2 nose cones on each side will approximate it?
There is no good way to do it.
Yes that’s a problem and that is my thought too but maybe the transition can give enough base drag to make adding nose mass work.
No, you'll need some fins.

Yeah I am going to use fins, but what about a bad way aka use python to calculate the drag and force 2 nose cones to add up to that?
Something like that should be fine, provided that you have a way to really calculate the drag on that transition. Then it's just a matter of careful CD overrides inside OR.

Last edited:
Something like that should be fine, provided that you have a way to really calculate the drag on that transition. Then it's just a careful matter of careful CD overrides inside OR.
Yeah I don’t got the skill but my dad does I’ll have to ask very nicely