Moving into DD: Black powder storage, regulations, confusion

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wfcook

Mayhem Rocketry, LLC
Reaction score
I've been doing a lot of searching around here trying to determine whether I need some sort of permit to purchase, posess, transport, handle, etc. black powder and e-matches for dual deployment. I've read Bob Krech's post on the subject as well as this thread and it would seem that I do.

It is, however, difficult to determine exactly where to go to find out current and definitive information about this. Most discouraging is a lack of easy-to-find information on the Triploi and NAR web sites. This Tripoli page contains a broken link to the ATF web-site. This one appears to be very out of date. Same goes for the NAR information because I have read many places (such as here) that the LEUP as such no longer exists.

I am new to this area of the hobby and want to do it safely and legally, but so far I'm succeeding only in confusing myself by reading a lot of out-of-date information. My hunting friends are of no help because they can handle BP without permits it would seem.

Going to the ATF web-site is even more confusing. Possibly intentionally so.

So, from someone who actually knows the answers for sure, I would really love an answer to the following questions. Any links or pointers to the actual applicable sections of the regulations are appreciated:

(1) Is there a good summary of this all somewhere that I have missed?
(2) What permits do I need to handle purchase, posess, store, transport, etc. small quantities of black powder (I assume FFFFg)
(3) What are the storage requirements? What kind of magazine do I actually need?
(4) Is there anything else that I need to know but don't appear to know that I need to know.

Thanks for any help. I hope this doesn't leave me more confused...

Also: