Mounting 1010 rail buttons

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bill S

Reaction score
I'm new to rail buttons, and am designing a large (for me) midpower rocket, and I want to add 1010 rail buttons to it. I had planned on using a stuffer tube attached to the front of the motor mount, running about 2/3rds of the way up the body. Having looked at the common methods of attaching rail buttons, I am not sure how I will be able to get that stuffer tube+centering ring past the forward rail button mount on the inside of the tube. The rear mount, I can probably make that work, by installing the button + mount before attaching the rear motor mount ring, but the front button mount? button mounting.png
The only thing I can think to to is put a notch in the front stuffer tube centering ring to allow it to get past the front button mount nut, but that leaves a notch there that the ejection charge gasses can go into, kind of defeating the purpose of a stuffer tube. Otherwise, I may have to use a 2 piece body tube with a coupler right ahead of the centering ring so I can fool with it before attaching the front body tube?

Pic of what I am talking about:

I'm new to rail buttons, and am designing a large (for me) midpower rocket, and I want to add 1010 rail buttons to it. I had planned on using a stuffer tube attached to the front of the motor mount, running about 2/3rds of the way up the body. Having looked at the common methods of attaching rail buttons, I am not sure how I will be able to get that stuffer tube+centering ring past the forward rail button mount on the inside of the tube. The rear mount, I can probably make that work, by installing the button + mount before attaching the rear motor mount ring, but the front button mount? View attachment 513923