Lunar Module

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

andy503

Reaction score
Hi i was wondering if i could get everyones opinion on scratch building a LM, using the descent stage as the launch pad and housing the motor in the ascent stage. i'm fairly new to model rocketry so any ideas would be great. i would like to know if this is possible or if it is just a crazy idea i have come up with.

There are no crazy ideas unless it is illegal. The only crazy idea is the one that it is never tried. That sounds like a great project and it should be easy to do. You will burn the descent stage for sure. Also you may have to install a Launch rod onthe descent stage and add somekind of fins on the ascent stage... clear plastic fins? Good luck on your project!!! make sure you document with lots of pictures and post them here (we love pics!!!)

- Raul

ps: Welcome to TRF!!!

Thanks Raul, i was thinking of building a deflector plate in to the descent stage. would it be an idea to get rocket designing software or just go for the trial and error approach?

Originally posted by andy503
Thanks Raul, i was thinking of building a deflector plate in to the descent stage. would it be an idea to get rocket designing software or just go for the trial and error approach?

I do not know if rocket designing software can acomodate such a design. Some members that come to mind: Micromeister and Sandman, may give good tips since they have been in the hobby for many years. They have done some neat "crazy" ideas and are very resourceful individuals...

This reminds me of a project my cousins and I had "under development" back in late 70's:

Rocket and payload would launch...

payload would have separated upon ejection of recovery system with payload having its own parachute...

payload would deploy four spring loaded legs with a switch attached to one of the legs inside the payload...