How to approach rocketry as a beginner

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Angel_of_the_Skies

Reaction score
Hey there guys. First and foremost I want to apologize. I have realized I’ve flooded this forum with so many questions. As a beginner, I seem to want to take leaps in the progress, which I know isn’t the way to approach the hobby.

When I see these beautiful rockets with smooth / glossy finishes with smooth fin fillets and beautiful schemes that fly real fast and high, I can’t seem to not want to have a rocket like such

I wanted to ask you guys in the community, what is ‘the way’ or ‘ways’ a beginner should look to approach the hobby ?

Buy a few Estes (or whatever) kits, build and fly them. The basics are pretty much the same until you get into fiberglass and dual deployment.. learn good building techniques (like patience.. waiting for glue/paint to dry.)

You can make nice fillets with a popsicle stick or your finger.

You can do a nice paint job by waiting for a warm dry day with no wind (unless you have a paint booth...)

Applying several *light* coats is the best way.

Now, having said all that, a lot of people are very satisfied with a 10' finish. Model rockets should be launched at a safe distance from bystanders, so if you think about it, nobody's really going to get up that close to it.. and you should probably keep in the back of your mind that there is a fine line between a show quality finish in the possibility that you'll never see your rocket again.

Another bit of advice is to seek out a club and attend a lunch. You can learn a lot from asking questions and observing what other people are doing.

Knowing when not to fly is also important, if it's windy or there's trees or power lines nearby, sometimes it's best to just sit one out.

Have fun, be safe, and build more rockets. That's how you get good at it.