Gone like the wind

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jettster104

Reaction score
Hello everybody, Im kinda new to the rocketry world, with around 30 launches to my name, lol. I have a question and im sure someone out here has the answer to it, but has anyone launched a rocket on a clear day and it just dissappears into the thin air ,never to be seen again ? There were 2 other people besides myself there and noone had a clue as to what happened to it , do they desinergrate if maybe a little bigger engine is installed than what is called for, it just really.has Me scratching my head. Thanks for any help.with this matter!

Yup, this happens quite a lot with large motors in small rockets. Much more so if it's painted blue or green, it's super windy, you're on a small field, and/or there's deep grass, brush, etc.

For the next go, consider starting with a smaller motor and working your way up once you see how the initial recovery goes.

Hello Jettster104. I’m willing to bet this has happened to everybody who frequents this forum. Relatively big motor in a relatively small, light rocket moving fast off the pad. Apogee deployment of a parachute with winds aloft blowing harder than you feel on the ground. Yep it happens. Don’t think it disintegrated, it just landed about a mile or two downwind. :)
Next time try this:
Use a streamer instead of a parachute. The risk of a busted fin beats losing the rocket. That’s why you bring some super glue in your range kit.
Tape the shroudlines of your chute together to keep the canopy from opening.
Invest in a Jolly Logic Chute Release. This gizmo keeps the parachute bundled until the rocket reaches a lower altitude.

Hope this helps and welcome to the party. :)

Last edited:
(...) do they desinergrate if maybe a little bigger engine is installed than what is called for, it just really.has Me scratching my head.