Do Carbon Fiber Layers Effect RF Transparency?

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Yukon@K-9 Rocket Tech

Student, Drone and Rockets, Aspiring Engineer
Reaction score
I'm new to RF telemetry, and I bought a 3DR Telemetry module recently. I built some custom carbon fiber tubes which is composed of 1 layer of fiberglass and 1 layer of carbon fiber (I know that's a horrible idea because they have different properties, but I did it because I wanted wiring to be integrated into the tube itself via copper tape in the future and don't want it touching CF). I decided not to add more layers of CF to ensure the 3DR module could still hopefully transmit data though the tube. However this was based on my assumption. I would assume a faraday cage's metal thickness won't matter so long every hole is smaller than the wavelength it's trying to block, so would CF be the same way where tube thickness have no effect in increasing or decreasing radio transparency? Or since CF is conductive, but not as conductive as metal, would thickness of the tube actually effect transparency. Please point it out if my knowledge is incorrect and I'd also be happy to hear from your experience and expertise!

In the ceaseless quest for strength and lower wing loading, R/C sailplane fuselages eventually moved to construction primarily of carbon. Pilots who were still using 72Mhz had to resort to running antennas outside of the fuselage, and pilots on the (then) new 2.4Mhz band ended up drilling small holes in their fuselages and routing 'whiskers' out into the airstream in order to ensure signal strength.