The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jepawi

Reaction score
Hi everyone
Im new to this forum so i hope i do everything right.
I'm a mechanical enginnering student and currently working on a rocket with some collegues. Our ultimate goal is to build an active-stabelized rocket using fin-control. We're struggeling with the determination of the orientation. We already successfully did this with an accelerometer, gyroscope and magnetometer using a sensor-fusion algorithm (mahony) but then realized that we can't use any algorithm like that as there will act a lot of acceleration apart from earths gravity. Does anyone have an idea on how to do it? Ho do they do it in big rockets? How do youtubers like BPS-Space etc do it? We could just use the gyroscope only but are worried that the measurements are not precise enough.
Thanks in advance for any advice.

Hi everyone
I'm a mechanical enginnering student and currently working on a rocket with some collegues. Our ultimate goal is to build an active-stabelized rocket using fin-control. We're struggeling with the determination of the orientation. We already successfully did this with an accelerometer, gyroscope and magnetometer using a sensor-fusion algorithm (mahony) but then realized that we can't use any algorithm like that as there will act a lot of acceleration apart from earths gravity. Does anyone have an idea on how to do it? Ho do they do it in big rockets? How do youtubers like BPS-Space etc do it? We could just use the gyroscope only but are worried that the measurements are not precise enough.
star trackers? Tell us about the success that you have already achieved.
This just in: BPS-Space is a youtuber???

Hi everyone
Yes, use the Mahony algorithm but set the set the accelerometer values to 0 to the Mahoney filter after detection of launch.