Build Thread: Estes Bull Pup 12D

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

messedupryan

TRF Supporter
Reaction score
I'm new to this, but I rather enjoy seeing other people's build threads and I thoroughly enjoy them. I'm just learning, so I am not trying to instruct anyone here, and I always appreciate feedback! Here goes nothing...

I've been focused on bigger/heavier rockets for myself and my daughter asked me today to make her one. I'm a big clumsy guy and I don't deal well with small tubes, so right out the gates I said no to half her choices. At 1.33" this one seemed like it could be kinda fun. (I totally overlooked the small forward fins that I am sure to make an absolute mess of!)

She'd already decided this will be red, I am thinking a darker cherry red with a matte finish. Got to work on it right away and noticed there is no motor retainer clip. I found a few helpful threads on the subject:
https://www.rocketryforum.com/threads/estes-bullpup-motor-retainer.163516/https://www.rocketryforum.com/threads/estes-bull-pup-12d-motor-retention.62241/https://www.rocketryforum.com/threads/estes-bullpup-complete.75462/BullPup_ - 1.pngBullPup_ - 2.pngBullPup_ - 3.png

Looks like I'll just be relying on friction to hold motors in. Next, I've got more plastic to cut. I about removed my thumb last week cutting the fin slots on the V2, went in much more prepared this week.
BullPup_ - 4.pngBullPup_ - 5.png

Got the motor mount assembled/glued. Now I wait for things to dry, and shop for a kit for me!
BullPup_ - 6.png

Last edited:
One modification I would suggest you do is use a BT 20 to BT 50 centering ring (The same ring that is used for 24mm thrust rings) to center the motor tube in the tail cone. It will help keep the motor tube center, and will add strength to the motor tube if you decide to use friction fit.