Baffle ???

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Race58

Reaction score
I am building a V2 using a Canadian Arrow. I plan to fly it with "E"-"F" motors and carry a Boostervision camera payload section.:D
Since I am a fairly "New BAR" and have been out for quite awhile I have never used a baffle before but now days it seems that a lot do.
I made one out of a coupler and some centering ring scrap I had laying around. It is 1" long and has 3 baffle plates. I plan to mount it at the top of the BT50H engine mount. All of this is posted in the pics below.
It seems so small so my ?? is will it be enough to handle the ejection gasses or will wadding etc. be needed also??:dontknow:

View attachment V2 MM-Baffle 013.JPG

View attachment PB010009.JPG

View attachment PB010011.JPG

View attachment V2 MM-Baffle 012.JPG

That looks fine, IMO. It looks like you've got 3-5 inches between the top of the motor and the bottom of the baffle. Fine. 3 plates should work, although I have also gone for 4-5 sometimes. Nice neat work.

One thing I might say is that the baffle plates look a little close together. Maybe 0.5in between them (or more) would be better. Let's see what others say.

G

From the description, it sounds a little on the tight side but I believe it should work.