Another new old guy

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi all. Just a quick introduction. I’m new to the forum but not new to model rocketry. I have been building and launching model rockets in some form for the past 50 years. I started building and launching rockets in the early 70’s and continued through high school. As a father, I built and launched rockets with my boys. I was a scout leader for 16 years and I helped or lead the annual rocket launch. Now I have grandkids so I am jumping back in.

I personally like the Estes PS II kits and have purchased enough parts to clone the original kits plus scale up a few that interest me. I might even clone a couple of the NCR kits. For me bigger is better.

I am closing in on retirement but for the past 35 years I have been a city firefighter and a part time cabinetmaker in Connecticut. I have to many hobbies but they include shooting and reloading, antique hand tools and woodworking, pinball machines, and cooking. Unfortunately my OCD/ ADD only lets me focus on one maybe two hobbies at a time.

I guess this wasn’t a quick introduction.

Mike

Last edited:
Hi Mike, you'll find these forums incredibly useful. And you'll be amazed at some of what's out there these days. QJet motors. BP motors up to F impulse. Balsa Machining Service. Eggtimer altimeter kits (a dual-deploy kit that fits in a BT50...$20). BIG rocket kits everywhere. 3D printing applications. Etc. Etc.

Welcome!

Welcome Mike. You sound like a very busy person! :) You better hurry up and retire! Have fun w those grand kids. You know how fast they grow up!

Thanks for a warm welcome.