Using a Rail

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nsp184

Reaction score
I am drawing up plans for my team's TARC rocket and am considering using a rail. I am new to rails, and have some questions:

-How do you mount the rail buttons on the rocket?
-Where can I get rail buttons and a rail?
-How do you create a pad using a rod?
-Is it more aerodynamic than using a rod?

Thanks.

Mounting the buttons depends on the rocket, but for my HPR rockets that have buttons on them, they are mounted into the centering rings for the most part. Others will glue wood blocks with threaded inserts to the interior of the body tube, and attach them that way. I've also seen minimum diameter models that have craft/popsicle sticks glued together and shaped, then attached to the outside of the rocket body and the buttons are screwed into that.

railbuttons.com will have a bunch of ideas on mounting. I've heard they are out of the smaller buttons right now, but I'm not sure if that's still true. You can also get buttons from newtons3rdrocketry.com, and several other places.

Another option to rail buttons is rail guides. These attach like launch lugs, as they don't go through the wall - just glue them on.

As for aerodynamic concerns, rail buttons produce less drag than launch lugs.

As for where to get a rail, here are some PA distributors for 80/20

Hiller Company
6005 Enterprise Drive
Export, PA 15632
Phone: 724-325-1200

Penn-Air/Pneu-Force
1750 Industrial Hwy
York, PA 17405
Phone: 717-840-8100

Or go to the 80/20 website and find the closest.

If you can get it locally, you can save on shipping.