Rattle Can Rustoleum help

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Walldiver7

Reaction score
So,.. I've recently discovered that I am not a paint expert, ...

Two issues:

1. Even after maintaining a dust free paint environment AND shaking the ssip out of the can, I still have stuff (lint/hair looking stuff) in the final paint-coat finish. Can this be polished out, AND how is paint polishing done anyway?

My paint process is simple: Primer, wet sand (800 g), 1st color coat, wet sand, then final color coat. I'm about to attempt my first clear coat over this final color coat, but am waiting to find out about polishing the color coat first. (for FG rocket tubes)

2. I think I've noticed that if I spray another color coat, over a still-wet rustoleum coat, that as it dries "crinkles" develop. Crinkles: it looks as if a microscopic mountain range is trying to push up through the top coat from below. I assume that this is a result of the bottom coat trying to dry while being covered by the top layer. I would appreciate a real explanation about this from you paint experts.

Thanks for the help!

Last edited:
Not a paint expert myself, but I can say Rustoleum in particular does not play nice with other paints if it is not fully cured between layers. I even gotten crinkling putting Rustoluem 2x over it's own primer! At $3 a can, I suppose you can't expect much. On the lint issue, what it seems to be for me is lighter coats not wetting. This leaves a covering of paint dust on the surface. To get this smoothed, I have used red auto rubbing compound, followed by white polishing compound and a final coat of auto wax. Be sure your paint is fully cured before starting. I'd recommend at least 48 hrs, but if you still smell volatile compounds, give it more time.