Newbie - help with Estes Designer’s Special kit?

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TeeGeeThree

Reaction score
Newbie here. My daughter and I built a super simple rocket last year from a kit and had fun. But it was almost too simple - just snap the pieces together and fly.

So we got a Designer’s Special kit, which has only general rocketry instructions. I could probably figure it out, slowly. But I want to keep it fun for my daughter. So I’m wondering if someone could point me towards a video or set of instructions that could walk me through building a rocket from the parts in that kit. Ie, ‘use this rocket mount’ and ‘this fin tracing’ with ‘this length tube.’ Etc. Something to guide us through building our first rocket from this specific kit.

I understand I could probably find a slightly simpler kit, somewhere between the one we got last time and this, but we’ve got this here and opened it up and we’d like to get building.

Thanks ahead of time for your help!

Apogee Components has a bunch of free plans and lots of information suitable for beginning builders. Use a design and simulation program (Rocksim, OpenRocket) to visualize and design from plans or a pile of parts.

I have the Designer's Special, and it should have all the parts needed to make several Estes kits (or make a very close clone). These include:

- Bull Pup 12D
- Goblin
- Citation Patrtiot
- Big Bertha
- Baby Bertha
- Mini Fat Boy
- Wizard
- Yankee
- Viking
- Star Trooper
- Swift
- Mosquito
- Der Red Max
- Alpha (nose cone will be slightly different, but pretty close)
- Hi Flier
- I'm sure there are a few others that I haven't mentioned; this isn't an exhaustive list.

Of course, you'll be missing the decals and some of the components might need to be modified slightly, such as cardboard centering rings. You may also need to go online to download and print out fin templates.