Fiberglass leading edge fin bevel thickness?

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Question: How sharp of an edge is optimal for the leading edge of a beveled fiberglass fin on a rocket projected to go mach 1.3-1.5?

My fins are 4.8mm fiberglass at the root. The kit I got has the leading edge pre-beveled but only to the point where the leading edge is 2.5mm thick. Seems too thick, but I'm not sure.

Should the leading edge be thinner for reduced drag? Or is that a bad idea in case it lands hitting something hard on the beveled trailing edge?

This 100" long rocket is simulated to go mach 1.3+ with an M motor (my level 3 cert attempt). I know it will work okay with a semi-blunt leading edge thickness of 2.5mm, but should I bevel it more and get the leading edge thickness down to 1mm or thinner? (I'm relatively new at this and trying to develop good habits for when I make bigger performance projects later) I know if I make it too much of a knife point then I won't be able to paint it well.

Also, should I slightly round the leading edge?

The first fin cross section below is what I got with the kit. The 2nd and 3rd are ideas I'm considering. Thanks for any advice... (this is a 4" Darkstar Extreme, in case that matters)

leadingedge.png

I wouldn't worry about tweaking the bevels on already beveled fins. It will make a negligible difference in drag. Unless I'm building a highly optimized minimum diameter rocket I see fin bevels as a purely aesthetic choice.