Dual Deploy / Shear pin questions

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PayLoad

I don't do spirals
Reaction score
I've been flying for 40 years, and I'm ashamed to say I've never done a dual deploy - I've always tried to keep it simple, or I used the JLCR with great success.

So I'm building my first DD, a 54mm LOC Vulcanite with bluetube ebay & eggtimer quark.

Now what?

I found these great nylon 4/40 screws at Ace Hardware that look like they would be perfect shear pins, but how do I know? How many to use, 2? 3? what I cannot wrap my head around is, doesn't the ejection rip up the tube around the shear pin?

Man, any suggestions or pointing out a thread would be a great help. I've watched apogee videos, which are a help, but most I've seen assume you already have the charge amount (1.5 grams?) and shear pin selection. I don't know where to start

I have two LOC 54mm (2.23 in) rockets with DD.

I use ONE 2-56 nylon screw shear pin to hold the nose cone on during Drogue deployment.
I do put two 2-56 drilled and taped holes boy only use one. The second is a 'spare, in case one hole gets bugged.
How I do this in put on the nose cone and drill a hole through BT and nose. Then tap a 2-56 thread. Insert a screw and drill/tap another hole on other side. Put a mark on cone to BT for later alignment. Remove screw and nose cone. Wick some Thin CA into the tapped holes and on the inside of the BT around the holes. This hardens the BT and ensures shearing the screw without damaging the tube. After CA glue cures, re-tap the holes, with the nose cone installed. LOC tubes are pretty thick and survive with a little CA hardening.