Direct stage a D to an E?

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SteveA

Reaction score
Is it possible? I have a rocket that I stretched from a CC Express and was wondering if it was possible to use an extra bottom stage from a CC Express to stage this one. Is this too much weight for that D to lift-off the pad? The rocket, loaded, weighs-in at 8.4 ounces. The CG is well ahead of the CP but I'm just wondering about the D's ability to get it off the pad. I have a sim program, but I'm still learning it and was hoping to tap into some experience here.

Is it possible? I have a rocket that I stretched from a CC Express and was wondering if it was possible to use an extra bottom stage from a CC Express to stage this one. Is this too much weight for that D to lift-off the pad? The rocket, loaded, weighs-in at 8.4 ounces. The CG is well ahead of the CP but I'm just wondering about the D's ability to get it off the pad. I have a sim program, but I'm still learning it and was hoping to tap into some experience here.
When you say extra bottom stage, are you talking about flying it as a 3-stager?

For the 2-stage D-E combo, yes, there's sufficient lifting power in the D12-0 to lift a CC express with an upper stage E9-8 (or maybe E9-6). I've flown that combo several times in a couple different rockets. For size comparison to the CC Express, one was BT-55 based, the other Quest T-40.

After motor power, the other consideration is stability. I'd have to run some sims on the CC Express to know for sure if it has sufficient stability margin with the larger E9 in the sustainer, but I suspect it does.

If you're trying to fly it as a 3-stager, you'll get a mix of advice here. Personally, my experience with a 3-staged BT-55 based rocket was disappointing. The lone D12-0 in the 1st stage just didn't have enough oomph for a satisfactory (ie, vertical :)) flight.