Contention

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SolarYellow

Basket of deployables.
TRF Supporter
Reaction score
Maybe it's the never-ending, excessive summer heat getting to people. I've just found myself reading through several threads this evening that turned into contentious, personal back-and-forth between members. Not all this week, but over the past couple months. "Conversations" I've somehow missed. Maybe I have just been clicking on things I would normally bypass because of the excess wait times that air travel enforces. But dang, the forum recently doesn't seem like the overall friendly place I've enjoyed for the past year. Weird.

Yes people need to be more thoughtful on the forum. Remember, what you wright, EVERYONE sees.

Very weird. Agreed.

I've only been here for a few months, but I am a veteran of Internet forums.

I've already had to block one member and have ignored many threads.

I liken it to road rage, you bump into somebody and they're like oh excuse me man, I wasn't looking where I was going.. but you put that same person behind the wheel and they're out for blood.

Don't feed the trolls.

Educate in your answers, don't belittle someone because they had it wrong. Remember, even people with hardly any knowledge about rocketry and are just starting to get into the hobby are just as welcome on this forum. We don't want to scare them off or make it seem like rocketry isn't for them.
I agree, don't feed the trolls.

I've just found myself reading through several threads this evening that turned into contentious, personal back-and-forth between members.
Moderators can’t and don’t read every post. If you see something that could be construed as contentious or a personal attack, report it. No harm done either way and it brings it to the immediate attention of the moderators.