Clarkson University Rocketry Club's First Rocket

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dnp

Reaction score
Hi all,

I've lurked both TRF and the Australian rocketry forums for a while now, and only posted occasionally. Since our launch which would have been tomorrow got delayed, I figured I'd do a writeup of the rocket we've been working on the past few weeks. This is our first rocket truly built as a club. Conman13 and I started the club when I was a freshman and he was a senior. Since then we've grown to about 40 members, but 15 or so active. Towards the end of this semester, I figured it would be more prudent to just fly one big rocket as a club instead of having everyone fly a smaller L1. The larger rocket could be built cheaper, look more impressive to the university, and still give everyone a chance to learn about building high powered rockets. We're still looking for funding so money is tight, we need to maximize our return for each flight.

The Design:

The rocket was designed to fly on a range of high performance 54mm motors, while not breaking the 18k foot waiver at the Tripoli field nearest us (URRG). Both 3 and 4 inch airframes were considered, but 3 inch was settled on since it would use fewer consumables and perform better on the 54mm motors we would be flying. A simple 2-break dual deploy system was decided upon, since it's simple and reliable. The nosecone, airframe, coupler, and motor tube are all filament wound fiberglass from Wildman. The fins and centering rings were cut out of carbon fiber plate we made in our lab.

Screenshot (23).png