Can I get level 1 cert with a homemade motor?

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ynotusean88

Reaction score
I'm a student in high school and I’m the head of an experimental rocket program at my school. This has been a two year project, with in these two years we have made our own I-440 sorbitol / KNO3 rocket motor with 136lb of peak thrust. And we are near completion of our rocket. However we can not launch at the local rocket club (MDRA- Maryland Delaware Rocketry Assoc) because we have not yet achieved level one cert.

SO my question is can we get level 1 cert with our own rocket motor or do we need to buy one and use it for the certification flight. Also any tips on filling out the FAA waiver or any other kinds of necessary waivers, this will be greatly appreciated.

And thank you for any reply

P.S. I’m sorry for my ignorance for not finding a thread which is similar to this one in its nature

No, you can not do that. It's accualy not even *technically* legal for you to be building your own motors until you get L-2.

Welcome to the Forum!!! Your projects sounds exciting. I wish my high school had such a program.

To answer you question (and repeat some of what the others said). No, you can't get you L1 cert on homemade motors. Homemade motors (EX motors) are only allowed at EX launch. NAR doesn't recognize EX launches, only Tripoli. And you need to be a L2 to flew EX motors at an EX launch. If you launch a rocket on your own land, all the above rules are out the window.

I hope you stay around the TRF. A lot of people here would love to hear more about your projects. Post some pictures and you'll become much more popular. :D

Hey- sorry about the mean-sounding response. I didn't mean it meanly. Again, like Randy said welcome to the forum!