Solid-fuel boosted long range rc jet.

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cmccully

Reaction score
I was wondering what I should use to boost my long-range jet project?

Are you trolling for fun or is some sort of FBI sting?

Ari.

Why don't you tell us a little bit about your project and yourself.

Bob

I'm Cole McCully I'm 16 and I've been designing a long range jet like this for like 2 yrs now and was just trying to get some intel. basically i want to fly it to about 30,000 ft and then activate the boosters which should hopefully put it well above 50,00 ft! well there you have it! any more questions?

Some but not much most of my experience is vicariously through others.

I was wondering what I should use to boost my long-range jet project?

I think that you can do magical things with diet coke and mentos.

Back to reality- I don't think that you're going to find a lot of help with this as you are a little short on details with your reply. If you are serious about this I think that people on this forum would love to see what you have designed and how you intend to achieve this, admittedly lofty, goal while staying complaint with the regulations of model rocketry and model aeronautics.

At a minimum you're looking at rocket motors which require you to be 18 or have an "of age mentor" who will fly on your behalf. Additionally, just getting a rocket to 30,000 feet and back successfully is much more difficult than you likely imagine. I couldn't fathom getting any kind of an airplane/glider that high successfully.

So please don't be put off by the replies you're getting (including mine) but I admit that I am a little skeptical that you have a design that will work. I would love to have you prove me wrong.