Shear Pins or tape?

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AndyC2

Reaction score
Hi,

A quick question.

For my first dual-deployment rocket, I've modified my PML 1/4-patriot (added 7" longer payload, and an ebay based loosely on others I've see on the Forums - thanks guys). I plan to fly it this weekend on a J350 for my level 2 (est 3500-4000'). For those not familiar, this is a 4" OD rocket made from PML's Quantum Tube (yes, with the extra weight it will stay well below 0.85 mach so the QT is OK).

My question is on securing the nose cone, which holds the main chute. I've never used shear pins before, but have seen others mention them in a number of threads. Am I better off sticking with tape/friction fit, or would pins be much better? I'm a bit concerned about the NC getting "shaken" off when the drogue is deployed. On the other hand, the NC is not very heavy, and might take a lot to knock it loose. Is there a general consensus on whether to use pins or tape for applications like this?

I guess a related question is, if using pins, then what kind? InfoCentral suggests square styrene rod, while I've seen others talk about using 2-56 screws. I saw one guy at a launch that had a nice system using styrene pins, where he flattened one end on a hot plate to make a "tack". InfoCentral also mentions using brass plates in the nose cone to deal with tears in the plastic. Is this much of an issue with either type?

Thanks for any tips.....
-Andy

Hi Andy, If your going to be at Pine Island this weekend I'll be there also doing my L2 with a J350! I think we might have met a few weeks ago. I flew the orange cluster G rocket. Anyway, I have not used shear pins either and will stick to tape for the time being. I don't want to experiment with something that new on a cert flight. However, others here know much more about it than I do.