Rokitflite Kit Status

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rokitflite

Reaction score
Hi All,

Just a quick note to all that have inquired about Rokitflite kits; All kits are currently on hold due to the fact that I have not been able to obtain decent decal paper. A little ways back I posted that I was having issues with decal paper. I have been buying decal paper from Tango Papa for several years. A couple of years ago I started getting TERRIBLE paper from Tango Papa and it seemed to be the fault of the company that manufactures the paper, not Tango Papa. I sent samples of the good and bad paper to the parent company and went back and forth with a company rep trying to get the problem straightened out. Everyone I spoke to gave me the same response; “Well, nobody else has complained.” The new paper I have been getting either has a different glue composition or simply not enough glue. The result is that even if the decal is applied onto a perfectly clean, smooth surface, once it dries is “silvers”. The older decal paper I have lays down beautifully compared to the new stuff, and I have now wasted hundreds of dollars on Alps cartridges and paper from several different companies. Until I can find a new source for decal paper or my old supplier gets the problems straightened out, I will not be producing any more kits. I apologize to all of those folks who have been waiting patiently, but I will not sell a crap product.

Thanks for keeping us posted, Scott. Have you discussed this issue with Sandman or other kit/decal vendors?

He has mentioned it to me.

I just got 500 sheets of paper from Tango papa. Nobody has let me know of any problems yet and I've used up about 200 sheets already.

I think if there was a problem somebody would have said something by now.

Just my 2 cents.

Bummer, Scott.