Pumpkin Carving!

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cmmeyers

Reaction score
We (well, I) carved a pumpkin yesterday. My kids have Star Wars on the brain, so of course that was this year's pumpkin theme. The subject : Darth Vader!

Attached is a composite picture. One was taken with the flash on so you could see the pumpkin, the other with no flash. My wife painted white glue around the cut-out area and then sprinkled black glitter on it, so that is the black you see in the one pic.

I am a complete novice at pumpkin carving, and I now know that there is an art to it. It is definitely something that you need to practice in order to get better. I began cutting with a serrated knife. That was fine for the straigt and slight curved parts, but then I quickly realized that I was going to need a completely different tool for the more detailed cuts. While searching for the perfect tool (I was looking for narrow saw blades in the garage), my wife suggested....the Dremmel! It was just what I needed. I got a little out of control in places, but it didn't turn out too bad (no complaints from a 5 and 3 year old).

The other day I was in Home Depot and by the checkout they had some "Dremel Pumkin Carving sets".

It looked like an orange version of thier cordless tool. Cheap to at $12 I think.

Great looking vader! :)

i use my exacto #11 knife for all of my carving. That and a set of small wood chisels and other carving tools. I have yet to carve one this year, but my daughter is beating me up so I will get something done!

A friend of mine has contracted me to do a Frank Zappa pumkin (that should be fun :) ) and I hope to do another hendrix too

Great job! My kids have Star Wars on the brain too and I'm in the process of putting together costumes for Vader, Luke and Leia for Halloween.