Possible to use mutli-cell LiPo battery as if individual 1S cells?

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

soopirV

Reaction score
Laying in bed unable to sleep last night, and a few ideas came to me...usually that means they're bad, so I'll start with the one I think has the most potential for being wrong (but am not sure!). Could I use the balance charging port of a 3S LiPo battery to get 3 1S feeds? The way the packs are wired is as if it's three 1S in one shrink wrap, so it is redundant...but, one source I found said that while possible, it's for low current applications:
https://www.tjinguytech.com/charging-how-tos/balance-connectors

That's from an RC standpoint, which I have no experience with, and while I know that firing an ignitor can be a high-current affair (an amp or so?), how does that compare to RC stuff?

No, the balance connector still shorts 'adjacent' terminals together. I.e. the bottom cell's positive is shorted to the next cell's negative, and so on. You'd need separate access to every positive and negative terminal to change the battery from 1 Ns (series) configuration to a Np (parallel) configuration.