Open Rocket warning - Stage began to tumble under thrust

billdz

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2017
Messages
1,346
Reaction score
109
While running a simulation on Open Rocket, I got the warning message "Stage began to tumble under thrust". Ran the simulation again and the warning went away, got the green check. Ran the simulation several times, sometimes I get the warning, sometimes I get the green check, even though no change in parameters at all.

What does this warning message meaning and why would it appear sometimes but not always on the same simulation?

Thanks for any info,
B
 

dhbarr

Amateur Professional
TRF Supporter
Joined
Jan 30, 2016
Messages
8,228
Reaction score
2,646
Other issues can be: not enough fin, rod too short, wind too high, multistage config incorrect
 

billdz

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2017
Messages
1,346
Reaction score
109
But if the parameters are exactly the same, why would the result change?
 

dhbarr

Amateur Professional
TRF Supporter
Joined
Jan 30, 2016
Messages
8,228
Reaction score
2,646
But if the parameters are exactly the same, why would the result change?
Because it is not a simplistic if-x-then-y solver.

It's a series of interrelated best estimate multi-dimensional sub-trans-super-sonic compressible/non-compressible flow thingy, and several of those subprocesses need randomness to arrive at any useful conclusions.

And if one or more design bits are marginal, sometimes you're on the right side of the RNG and sometimes you're not.
 

markkoelsch

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2009
Messages
4,364
Reaction score
151
Your design is playing it to close to instability. Add some fin, add some nose weight, or make it longer.
 

Buckeye

Well-Known Member
TRF Supporter
Joined
Sep 5, 2009
Messages
2,993
Reaction score
759
The result should not change unless some randomness is enabled in the simulation. Or, there is poor coding where conditions are not properly reset.
 

dhbarr

Amateur Professional
TRF Supporter
Joined
Jan 30, 2016
Messages
8,228
Reaction score
2,646
The result should not change unless some randomness is enabled in the simulation. Or, there is poor coding where conditions are not properly reset.
Swirling air in an atmosphere, yeah that's pretty variable. Would be contributory to the randomness, I'd think :)
 

billdz

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2017
Messages
1,346
Reaction score
109
Yes, I see if you click on Run Stimulation several times on just about any rocket and any configuration, there will be slight variations every time, the apogee changes by a few meters, speed changes a bit, etc. So my rocket must be on the very edge of stability.
 

Buckeye

Well-Known Member
TRF Supporter
Joined
Sep 5, 2009
Messages
2,993
Reaction score
759
Yes, I see if you click on Run Stimulation several times on just about any rocket and any configuration, there will be slight variations every time, the apogee changes by a few meters, speed changes a bit, etc. So my rocket must be on the very edge of stability.

Maybe so, but the computer should return the same answer every time. No slight changes, but exactly the same every time you hit run. Mine do. I turn off all wind. There is some purposeful randomness coded in your sim. I suspect wind is where it is happening.
 

billdz

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2017
Messages
1,346
Reaction score
109
That seems to be it, I turned off the wind and now the sims stay the same.
 

dhbarr

Amateur Professional
TRF Supporter
Joined
Jan 30, 2016
Messages
8,228
Reaction score
2,646
So, just to be clear: instead of adjusting away from the possibly marginal condition, we've taped over the check engine light.
 
Top