Mean Machine Repair Help Needed

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bmhiii

Reaction score
I need a little help in repairing a hurt tube on a Mean Machine. As it is not mine, but a buddy of mine in Texas, I do not have the rocket for viewing to help explain the problem. I do have a couple of pics that show it.

As you can see, the tube is bent right above the fins. I have no experience in fixing something like this so I'm looking for suggestions. The only thing I could come up with is a wrap of some kind.

Help!!

bmhiii

What I have done in some cases, depending on how close the bend is to say a thrust ring, is carefully cut the tube in half at the bend, insert a coupler of the correct size and glue 'er back together. If your very careful it can only be detected on close examination.

Another possibility:
Cut the damaged section out of the BT and join them back together with a coupler. A little filler and some sanding, followed by a little blending of paint and you should be back in biz. Should only be a slight loss of BT by the looks of the pic.

Both those repair suggestions are right on.

If you don't have a tube coupler make one by cutting a 3" or 4" section of BT-60, slit it carefully and fit it into the rocket body tube, mark the overlap and trim it to fit. Use the part you trimmed off to glue onto the inside of the coupler to reinforce the seam.

In addition, if in the course of the repair the decal is ruined, call Estes, tell them what happened and they will send you a new decal.

Since they are still in production the decals will still be available. If you are nice about it, they may not even charge you for them.

sandman