MadCow Rocketry 'Lil Goblin

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CrazyModelGuy

Reaction score
So I know this kit is on the older side. Thats fine. However, the directions are not the clearest. Dumb question and im not clueless. The engine mount tube seems loose in the centering rings, normal? And the nose cone doesnt seem to fit in the body tube. There are 3 rings in 2 different spots and the nose cone only inserts to the bottom most set of rings.
lastly the fins dont see to wanna fit into the fin slots is this normal?

Ok. I have the 2.6” fiberglass kit. Someone will chime in.
Oh and like I said im a machinist and follow directions well.. But these are by far some of the worst directions. And there is no build guides online that ive seen. So ill take me time and go slow.

I have not built a Lil Goblin, but have other Maccow cardboard kits. The rings on the nosecone will need to be lightly sanded to fit. I think it is done that way to account for irregularities in the manufacture of the tubes and nose cones.

As for the MMT and centering rings this is semi-normal. Seems like some are tighter than others. Good fillets are your friend. If the fit seems too loose (in your eyes) you can glue 3 bits of paper, m/l evenly spaced around the tube to tighten the fit. Might have to lightly sand if it tightens too much. I do this because I remove the glassine tube wrap for better glue adhesion. (opinions vary on if it is really required) I avoid a continuous wrap of paper because I want the ring bonded to the tube, not bonded to paper bonded to the tube. (just one of my things)
YMMV

Edit: I just looked at the instructions on Madcow's web page. They seem pretty adequate, and normal for this stage of rocket building. They assume you have some experience. The instructions specify epoxy, however, with a cardboard and wood model, yellow wood glue works just fine.